“The Woman With The Dolls”

Sennelier Oil Pastels on paper, Black velvet matboard and antique frame. Copyright c. 2011

   

    My abstract style portrait of a New Orleans Vodou priestess and her collection of effigies. The dollies are drawn to look like people, because the priestess keeps the souls of her ancestors in the figures.

Now, the media generally displays Vodou as dolls, and pins, and needles. Demons and evil and spooky people! But Vodou is not some silly hollywood film. Vodou is a way of life, it is a faith with much culture and history behind it. Doll babies, poppets, whatever you want to call them, there are effigies used for good and bad. Practical magic for everyday life, apart of New Orleans Vodou, but not the religion as a whole.

About ErzulieRedEyesArtandSpirit

I love art, I enjoy oil painting and drawing anything I wish. Vodou is my faith and I enjoy creating artistic images of the lwa and spiritual subjects. I also paint and draw other subjects when I'm inspired! When i'm not painting and drawing I enjoy dancing, and spending time with my family. My favorite medium is Oil but I also love to work with graphite pencil, pastels, pen and ink.
This entry was posted in Art for the lwa and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “The Woman With The Dolls”

  1. “Geschichte der Voodoopuppe” from Bokor Marco Bergmann and his video series “Let’s Talk About Vodou.”

Leave a comment