“Agwe Red Eyes, A Living Portrait”

Agwe Red Eyes A Living Portrait

Haitian Vodou Spirit of the water, Agwe Red Eyes. Oil color on canvas detail.

Haitian Vodou Spirit of the water, Agwe Red Eyes. Oil color on canvas detail.

Agwe Red Eyes A Living Portrait

I read or heard somewhere in art books that my favorite painter Da Vinci, would use Red as his base colour in oil painting a portrait, because our human blood is red of course. And a portrait can be in any style the artist wants it to be. But it makes sense that if you want to go deeper than following norms of typical art styles or rules, and you want your picture to live and breathe. You mimic the parts of the human flesh and body in the colors of your paint. So he would paint Red as his base color for blood and then paint the tones of muscle, bone contours and flesh over the blood red base colour. To me this sounds like what I’d call a “living portrait” because you are creating a soul and energy in your portrait when your intent is to recreate life and flesh in your painting. The picture lives! I am using this Red base colour method in my portrait for Agwe Red Eyes and I want his eyes, face and flesh to come alive in my picture for him. I am working with a Cadmium Red Deep base glaze and Burnt Umber for my shading and contours. His flesh will be a beautiful Jaune Brilliantine and Van Dyke Brown mixture. He is dressed in a decorative Sea Blue tunic, one of his sacred colours, draped in Kolye and his eyes are a base glaze of fiery Red! A living portrait for Agwe Ge Rouge and a good work in progress!!

About ErzulieRedEyesArtandSpirit

I love art, I enjoy oil painting and drawing anything I wish. Vodou is my faith and I enjoy creating artistic images of the lwa and spiritual subjects. I also paint and draw other subjects when I'm inspired! When i'm not painting and drawing I enjoy dancing, and spending time with my family. My favorite medium is Oil but I also love to work with graphite pencil, pastels, pen and ink.
This entry was posted in Art for the lwa and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

