“Don’t Dig The Grave.”

  Haitian Vodou spirit of the dead, Baron La Croix, ( Baron Of The Cross) at his altar.       Bob Ross Liquid clear and Oil colour on canvas sheet. Copyright c. 2012

    When a loved one is on the brink of death from any ailment, illness or natural causes, they say if you plead with the Baron, ask him don’t dig that grave, he may or may not bring them back from the point of no return! Baron is the judge and jury he decides who may be healed and who has to go home to God, Bondye. Baron Is the Chief of the Gede vodou spirits, although he is very serious and does not joke around like the Gede spirits do! Like other Vodou spirits there any many aspects to Baron, for example, there is Baron Samedi, Baron Kriminel, Baron Cimitiere and La Croix, etc…. They say he wears his sunglasses with one lens missing to watch over the world of the living and the dead at the same time! Working with Baron myself I’ve learned about resurrection, vengeance, death, healing, and taking the most grim circumstances in my life and trying to find humor and light where I may. The Ghede spirits have the world’s best sense of humor, they know how to laugh and clown and tell dirty jokes. They are wild and sexy, dancing the famous Banda and talking racy, racy ADULT talk! Baron is known for his great work with children, he is very protective of them and he is very attentive with healing sick children especially. They can assist families or young women seeking to have children, they are givers of life although they are the dead! Fet Gede is their special holiday where the living and the dead come together to celebrate and honor their lwa and their ancestors. Baron can be found in the cemetery watching over his people and waiting to guide new souls into the world of the spirits.

About ErzulieRedEyesArtandSpirit

I love art, I enjoy oil painting and drawing anything I wish. Vodou is my faith and I enjoy creating artistic images of the lwa and spiritual subjects. I also paint and draw other subjects when I'm inspired! When i'm not painting and drawing I enjoy dancing, and spending time with my family. My favorite medium is Oil but I also love to work with graphite pencil, pastels, pen and ink.
This entry was posted in Art for the lwa and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to “Don’t Dig The Grave.”

  1. petchary says:

    This is a really compelling and powerful image. Baron Samedi seems to be a complex character, full of life…and death. When is Fet Gede – is it All Souls Day?

  2. Loved your painting. And I learned somethiing new today always a bonus. Great Post 🙂 xxx hope you are well. Just love your talent
    Sue 🙂

  3. I’ve always admired the Baron’s dress sense.

  4. Morrighan says:

    very interesting man, i’ve got to read up on him. the Goddess Morrighan also decides who will live and who will die in battles,if she was seen washing a warriors armor then he knew he was to die. great article. thank you for visiting my blog today, i think you have a really awesomely interesting blog!!

Leave a Reply

