“A Gentleman With Some Eyeteeth”

Bram Stoker’s creation, the Count Dracula, a bloodthirsty Vampire. Watercolours on mixed media paper.             Virtual matboard in Indigo. Copyright c. 2012

Today is Mr. Bram Stoker’s 165th Birthday! For all who care to know and who love his work. When I first read His book “Dracula” I was thrown into a world of monsters and nightmares and romance that took my imagination for a good ride! Vampires are  fascinating creatures to fantasize and romanticize, to see and dream of in movies and novels. But there is nothing sexy or appealing about a demon that comes in the night to tear the arteries from your body and bleed you out!! Blood loss is scary it makes you feel dizzy and it hurts too! Ouchy! (In my opinion, if that’s what you are into that’s OK I don’t judge people!) But Bram Stoker and my other favorite Mrs. Anne Rice of New Orleans found a way to take a being of darkness and death and make them sexy, fun and likeable! Dracula is a character that inspired me and many other millions of horror and gothic fans to reach for something deep and meaningful in our nightmares and our darkness in life. Tame the beast and monster that is hiding inside of all of us.                     Happy Birthday Mr. Bram Stoker!!!!!!!!

 

About ErzulieRedEyesArtandSpirit

I love art, I enjoy oil painting and drawing anything I wish. Vodou is my faith and I enjoy creating artistic images of the lwa and spiritual subjects. I also paint and draw other subjects when I'm inspired! When i'm not painting and drawing I enjoy dancing, and spending time with my family. My favorite medium is Oil but I also love to work with graphite pencil, pastels, pen and ink.
This entry was posted in Art for the lwa and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “A Gentleman With Some Eyeteeth”

  1. Morrighan says:

    Gary Oldman was one seriously sexy vamp, that is when he was a young one,the older one with the long pointy nails and weird hairdo was just plain scary! i’m a fan of Bram Stoker and Ann Rice to.

  2. Androgoth says:

    I have missed this one so I will click
    to ‘Follow’ you, I don’t follow that many
    Spaces but hey they don’t add such
    wondrously fine paintings to view 🙂

    This one is brilliant my friend 🙂

    Andro xxx

Leave a Reply

