“Gratitude For My Vision”

 

Snapshot of the full blown ripened Cataract in my right eye.

My eyes with my ripened cataract.

Being born with imperfect vision can be a real pain in the ass. I was diagnosed with Congenital Cataracts when I was 7 years old, and I’ve always squinted and strained my eyes throughout my childhood, and teen years. Now I’m HALF-BLIND again and can’t see out of my right eye, its my damn Cataracts again!! Ripe and ready to be sliced from their source. When I first lost my vision I was home alone and my husband away in Russia for a month! It was a scary time, I never had this happen to me before I thought I was going blind, my left eye just suddenly went out. I had my surgery and thank goodness it was just my cataract and fixable!  I am now in the same condition as before, half-blind and cross-eyed. I no longer make fun of people with Crooked eyes or “Esotropia.” I’m stronger now and I don’t cry or get angry when people stare, I know deep down my problem is FIXABLE thank god. I feel horrible for the people that walk around half-blind, fully blind, cross-eyed everyday of their lives!! TOO MUCH!! My Eye Doctor, Dr. Emily Fant at Sheperd Eye Center helped me so much, I could see again because of her expertise and great work. I was nervous when I went to my first surgery I thought something could slip up and my eye would be ruined forever (I’m always a paranoid worry wort anyhow.)  I asked the Anesthesiologist to give me some dots because I could feel the Dr. cutting my eye, a dull tearing sensation and I was so nervous! I’m waiting now for my appointments and then I’ll be free from this nightmare of half-vision and the pain of my eyes twisting!! I am still working on my paintings for my blog even though my eyes are googly. And the Halloween season is here and then Fet Gede is coming!! I am excited about that! Something to look forward to instead of crossed or crooked! LOL

 

About ErzulieRedEyesArtandSpirit

I love art, I enjoy oil painting and drawing anything I wish. Vodou is my faith and I enjoy creating artistic images of the lwa and spiritual subjects. I also paint and draw other subjects when I'm inspired! When i'm not painting and drawing I enjoy dancing, and spending time with my family. My favorite medium is Oil but I also love to work with graphite pencil, pastels, pen and ink.
This entry was posted in Art for the lwa and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “Gratitude For My Vision”

  1. cheshirecatman says:

    That is so scary to have anything affecting your vision. Glad it is treatable.

Leave a Reply

