“Spirit Near The River”

Vodou lwa Clermeil bearing a Catholic cross. Oils and Colour Pencil on Linen Canvas. Virtual matboard. Copyright c.2012

 General Clermeil is a lwa of Haitian Vodou that commands rivers and streams, he comes in the form of a European man. Clermeil is a spirit that “turns the tide,” he has the ability to make rivers flood and destroy with water when he is angered. Water has been said to be the strongest force on earth, It gives life and also takes it away in an instant! Clermeil, like many other water lwa can be found near the river, at the springs, in the deep and guiding the current in the stream of life and death.

About ErzulieRedEyesArtandSpirit

I love art, I enjoy oil painting and drawing anything I wish. Vodou is my faith and I enjoy creating artistic images of the lwa and spiritual subjects. I also paint and draw other subjects when I'm inspired! When i'm not painting and drawing I enjoy dancing, and spending time with my family. My favorite medium is Oil but I also love to work with graphite pencil, pastels, pen and ink.
This entry was posted in Art for the lwa and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to “Spirit Near The River”

  1. Lovely portrait you have created 🙂 and I think he may be mighty Mad concidering all the rain and flooding we have been having here in the UK 🙂 :).
    – Sue xx

  2. petchary says:

    Rain is dripping from our roof in Jamaica as I write – and so welcome. General Clermeil has beautiful, clear eyes but is somehow a little fearful. The power of water!

    • Hi Petchary thanks! Eyes are my favorite part of the anatomy to draw and paint. That tropical rain must be so beautiful to look at! I’ve got rain and grey skies in my city too now!

      • petchary says:

        Yes, the tropical rain is amazing. It is so nourishing. And we have had weeks of drought. Our birds love it, and sit on the wire preening their feathers. I do enjoy your art, it is so surprising and so striking…

      • Thanks! I always wanted to go see the islands a tropical getaway sounds perfect! It gets dry out here in my city so its nice to have the rain and some booming thunder clouds! I love it!

  3. munchow says:

    A beautiful and intense portrait. It radiates so much energy. Lovely colours.

  4. Jill Sophia says:

    Saundra, I love this image! I belong to an esoteric Lodge that works with the Lwa, and the more I learn about the beauty of Vodou, the more I realize the vast amount that I still need to learn; it will take a lifetime, but the journey is worth it! Although I relate intensely to the water Lwa (especially La Sirène and Mèt Agwe), I hadn’t heard of General Clermeil until I saw your wonderful art, and now I feel inspired to find more information on him. So, mèsi anpil! Also, is there any chance that you will be selling giclée prints of this (and your other artwork) anytime in the future? If so, I’d definitely be interested!

    Love and blessings,
    ~ Jill ~
    Brooklyn, NY

Leave a Reply

