“The Tilted Gold Leaf Frame”

It Is St. John’s Eve! A special Voodoo Holiday in New Orleans, Louisiana everyone gathers to celebrate the day before the feast day of St. John The Baptist! Marie Laveau Glapion the world-famous Voodoo Queen of old New Orleans would hold her special ceremonies down at Bayou St. John! It was only a week ago June 16th 1881, that she passed away into the spirit world. Many people bring offerings of candles, flowers, hair combs (because Marie worked as a Hairdresser when she was in the flesh) sweets and meats to Marie Laveau for St. John’s Eve. If you visit her family tomb plot In St. Louis Cemetery No. 1 you’ll see similar gifts left at her gravestone. Marie in her day would perform Head washings (Lave Tet) during this time. Mambo Sallie Ann Glassman of New Orleans is a well-known Priestess and owner of The Island Of Salvation Botanica in the Big Easy. Mambo Glassman is also a published author and has illustrated a Tarot Deck. She also participates in the Haunted New Orleans Tours which are a lot fun and you learn a little history too! I highly recommend the tours, I remember going on the walking tour through the French Quarter with my family 2 years ago it was great!! Mambo Glassman keeps tradition alive and holds service at the bridge over Bayou St. John for the spirits!! They say Marie Laveau’s spirit comes alive this time of year June 23rd-24th!                                               Happy St. John’s Eve to all the Voodoo children!! 

Nice video with a photo collage of a Bayou St. John celebration from a few years go: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bZUYhbgGhCU

Mambo’s website: http://www.feyvodou.com/

http://www.hauntedneworleanstours.com/voodoo/sallieannglassman/sallieglassman/

About ErzulieRedEyesArtandSpirit

I love art, I enjoy oil painting and drawing anything I wish. Vodou is my faith and I enjoy creating artistic images of the lwa and spiritual subjects. I also paint and draw other subjects when I'm inspired! When i'm not painting and drawing I enjoy dancing, and spending time with my family. My favorite medium is Oil but I also love to work with graphite pencil, pastels, pen and ink.
This entry was posted in Art for the lwa and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.