“Funny Games”

My snapshot of my Ouija board. Its only a game. Copyright c. 2012

The Ouija Board is sold worldwide as a toy, a game, but it’s not a game, It’s a communication tool with the spirits around us. Communicating with the lwa I can just sit in front of my altar or ask Papa Legba a question, and the spirits will send you a sign or several signs. With the board its more direct and immediate BUT some say you never really know who you’re talking to! When I’m not busy or working I like to bring out the old “witch board” and play a round or two! I remember when I was 15 and my Sister was 19 and we played the board together. My mother sat nearby with pen and a notepad and wrote down all of our responses we received from the board. We started to come into contact with a spirit named “Zack.” The board spelled out Z-A-C-K, we asked who he is and he told us he is a little boy. Zack told us about my sister’s future children, my mother’s future home she was dreaming of purchasing and seemed to know everything! When I played the board with my sister she had so much energy that the board would turn and spin slowly while we tried to keep our hands placed steadily on the planchette. I could never play the board by myself it would not move for me alone. After a while I threw that board away and later bought a new one. Fast forward now, I’m 26, 11 years after first meeting the spirit named “Zack” and hanging out with a friend of mine. I ask her if she wants to play the board. I bring it out and we start asking questions. I start off by asking    “Hello? Hello? Who is there? Is anyone there?” The board goes back and forth spelling out M-A, M-A, M-A, repeatedly. The board then spells out Z-A-C-K! It was Zack!! After a decade and with a new board I have made contact with Zack again!!  It then spells out      M-A-N-Z, M-A-N-Z. My friend had asked what her new boyfriend’s name would be so we thought the board was saying “men” or “mans.” But the board was actually trying to tell us “Ma and Zack” I say “Hi Zack!” and the board spells out “Hi Mama.” He would keep calling me mama and he told me that he is my son. I knew he must have been joking because I can’t have kids and I never did want any. Each time my friend would ask a question Zack would spell out “Not YOU, mama.” He was determined to speak only to me through the board! I asked Zack If he remembered when my sister and I talked to him a long time ago, he spelled out “Yes mama, your sister Crystal.” I asked Zack why he did not tell me he was my son when I first met him through the board, and he said “Because I didn’t hear you ask me.” He said he is not born yet and has no age. I believe maybe he was playing with my mind, but at the same time he seemed benevolent and helpful. I never wanted to have kids and don’t want any ever so he confused me, calling me mama. I gave my sister Crystal a call and told her about Zack, and she remembered him! I thought since I’m 27 and she’s 31 now that she would not remember since we had not played the board in so long. She first told me to stop talking to him because he is a Demon, but then she asked me to ask him questions when she needed advice on something. Zack just seems to know everything and he is psychic, I could ask him names and events and he can tell me. Its interesting, I wonder how he knows and how he sees this. It’s proper Ouija etiquette to say goodbye when you want to end a session using the board. But my session doesn’t end, Zack always spells out “No goodbye mama.” Now every time I play the board no matter what greeting I begin with, it’s always spelling out to me:                                                                                     “Hi mama, how are you? Always love you mama.” But Its only a game…..

About ErzulieRedEyesArtandSpirit

I love art, I enjoy oil painting and drawing anything I wish. Vodou is my faith and I enjoy creating artistic images of the lwa and spiritual subjects. I also paint and draw other subjects when I'm inspired! When i'm not painting and drawing I enjoy dancing, and spending time with my family. My favorite medium is Oil but I also love to work with graphite pencil, pastels, pen and ink.
This entry was posted in Art for the lwa and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to “Funny Games”

  1. Wow, I remember playing this so may times.. Do they still make this? Love to have one again!!!

  2. cheshirecatman says:

    Do you think Zack is referring to you literally as ‘mama,’ or using it as a title of affection or respect?

    • I ask him why he keeps calling me mama and he spells out “because I am your son.” I say I know I can’t have kids and he says “Yes you can mama.” I think he is some kind of impish spirit, he can be silly but also serious and accurate too. I even asked where the name Zack comes from because I don’t know anyone by that name, all he said was “from dad.” Maybe he is just playing with me or trying to be affectionate. I know he always shows up with the same greeting each time I ask who’s there while playing the board.

  3. Marie-Claude says:

    Maybe he was your son in a previous life?

Leave a Reply

