“Lucem Ferre Burning Bright!”

Snapshot of my oil colours for the underpainting of "Names That Mean Light." Copyright c. 2012

I am currently working on my underpainting for my portrait of lwa King Lecife, my base colours I will glaze over are Yellow and Gold Ochres to create the glowing effect of candlelight. Always use bright yellows as your base colour to make your paintings glow!

My underpainting for "Names That Mean Light" Oil colour on canvas. Copyright c. 2012

About ErzulieRedEyesArtandSpirit

I love art, I enjoy oil painting and drawing anything I wish. Vodou is my faith and I enjoy creating artistic images of the lwa and spiritual subjects. I also paint and draw other subjects when I'm inspired! When i'm not painting and drawing I enjoy dancing, and spending time with my family. My favorite medium is Oil but I also love to work with graphite pencil, pastels, pen and ink.
This entry was posted in Art for the lwa and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to “Lucem Ferre Burning Bright!”

  1. Gorgeous work! Do you by any chance have any resources regarding Lucifer’s lwa aspect? This is the first time I’ve heard him being referenced in Vodoun, I’d love to learn more!

    • Hello thank you! The BEST reference would be to journey down to Haiti and connect with locals who know magic and work with the left hand path down there. Some people work dark and light magic others don’t want to do dark magic. Not everything about the lwa is on the net or in books but a nice book which mentions King Lucifer is The Haitian Vodou Handbook by Kenaz Filan!

      • No problemo! It would be nice to have more Haitian Vodou knowledge in books but as you know many really good magical workers down there are unable to afford publishing and maybe they can’t read or write, so you won’t see spellbooks like your everyday magic books. And then of course some people keep magical knowledge in their family or they want to keep secrets. Thank god for technology!

  2. Such a metamorphosis from the post that preceded this one! Congrats on the lovely evolution of the work!

  3. Love this painting, very inspiring.. I also love the features of the face.. a very kind and caring look you have given him.. Blessings ~Sue

  4. wordgardener says:

    It’s great to see a painting come together in this way, from the sketch to the undercoats to the final sharp colours. Especially when there’s such a great cultural story to go with the visual! Thanks!

  5. timruane24 says:

    Christian-Indian, I think.

Leave a Reply

