“Sketching for King Lucifer”

Sketch for my oil painting of Vodou lwa Le Roi Lecife, King Lucifer. Votive tea, Pillar and Taper Candles. Pencil on primed canvas sheet 60x70in. Copyright c. 2012

In my new oil painting I am working on, I am creating a portrait for the Djab King Lucifer. My painting will be  titled “Names That Mean Light” because Lucifer is the morning star and the light bearer. Strong emphasis on light, colour and flame in my new painting although his name is associated with all that is dark and evil.

About ErzulieRedEyesArtandSpirit

I love art, I enjoy oil painting and drawing anything I wish. Vodou is my faith and I enjoy creating artistic images of the lwa and spiritual subjects. I also paint and draw other subjects when I'm inspired! When i'm not painting and drawing I enjoy dancing, and spending time with my family. My favorite medium is Oil but I also love to work with graphite pencil, pastels, pen and ink.
This entry was posted in Art for the lwa and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to “Sketching for King Lucifer”

  1. Candles are symbols of blessings, goodness and they are used worldwide by all, religious and non-religious. My sketch has lots and lots of candles because my picture for Lucifer will depict him as a bright angel of light, the being he once was and not the monster in the shadows. Nice link on the history of candles: http://www.candles.org/about_history.html

  2. willofheart says:

    great sketch Erzulie…. 🙂

  3. This looks an extremely interesting Painting project you have here my friend, Lucifer is often Miss-represented as to who what and why he is what we have been led to believe of him … Great to know another understands the ancient mysteries of old times.. 🙂 Have a wonderful Easter Painting :-).. You have given me the Urge to get out my own paintbrushes again 🙂

    • I’m going to be using Bob Ross Liquid clear its a really nice medium it makes the paint glossy and the colours pop. It brightens the paint, so I’m having fun creating all the candle light. Get your art supplies out and paint! Its the best!

  4. Mother of 2 and No More says:

    Great sketch! You’re very talented.

  5. rumpydog says:

    I didn’t realize that’s what Lucifer meant. I also like this work.

  6. Such a nice sound the name Lucifer has to it. Wish u the very best for the marvelous project!

  7. I love your artwork!
    and thanks for liking my post!
    I think I’ll follow your blog to keep up with your beautiful art 🙂

  8. Youtube video of Reggae artist Max Romeo’s “I chase the Devil” a song referring to Lucifer, Son of the morning:

  9. Lisa at fLVE says:

    Did not know about the name means light. That’s interesting. It’s associated with Venus too it seems. Thank you for the knowledge.

Leave a Reply

