“My Hands, My Mind, My Soul.”

          Original Ink drawing on paper titled “A Disquieting Approach To Life.”          Don’t tread upon me I’ve got teeth! Copyright c. 2012

I was just alerted today that two of my pictures “Erzulie Ge Rouge” and “Dantor’s song” were used without my permission by a user on facebook in the vodou community. I already filled out the copyright infringement form so Facebook should get right on it.    Here is the form in case anyone has future issues with this themselves and needs to use it: https://www.facebook.com/help/contact_us.php?id=208282075858952

My original painting Illustrating Dantor vomiting her blood, titled “Dantor’s Song”:   https://erzulieredeyes.wordpress.com/2010/12/30/erzulie-dantors-song/

The plagiarized piece: https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10151328737845391

My original painting for Erzulie Red Eyes titled “Erzulie Ge Rouge”: https://erzulieredeyes.wordpress.com/2010/12/16/erzulieredeyes-ge-rouge-ii/

The plagiarized piece:                                                                https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10151338315640391&set=a.15342460539

I don’t use facebook, I never have, I’m usually working or painting or spending time with family and friends. I’m not too social on the internet so you won’t see me and my art all over the place. It makes me sad and mad when someone takes my art without asking me first! It reminds me of when I was in my high school studio art AP class at Centennial High and had slides of my artwork stolen from me and given to another student to place into her portfolio. I was actually told by the teacher that because of my nationality that people like me aren’t supposed to be doing the kind of art I do and I am only supposed to do black people’s art. I was told my art did not rightfully belong to me, it belonged to white people and my talent is supposed to be for white people only. I complained and told everyone I could, I was called crazy and ignored and villified. My school counselor stood up for me though which helped alot. To this day when I tell people what happened to me they think I’m lying or making it up because its nonsense and I still can’t believe that it happened to me myself! This time someone has my images and they have also taken other peoples images without their permission and I was told by another person that was plagiarized that their reason is “the white man stole my religion.” According to this person any art that has anything to do with vodou belongs to him because vodou is his faith. This is ridiculous and unnecessary, to say the least. You can’t steal a religion, faith and spirits come from god and no matter what we look like in this world faith can be apart of anyone’s life. My images come from my inspired hand and mind. My artwork I dedicate to the lwa and then I create art for the sake of my passion for it, but it belongs to me. My mind belongs to me and ultimately to god who created me, not to anyone else. Sometimes I also deal with people who believe I am not doing my work because of the way I look and my color. So they search the internet looking for the “real author” because it couldn’t possibly be me. I’m supposed to be bootyclapping and doing the Dougie, people like me don’t pick up a brush and make pictures according to some, LOL. Anyone who would like to use one of my images or buy them can just ask, email me that’s all. Or go get some art supplies and make a picture for yourself, Its fun and freeing! Easy breezy!

About ErzulieRedEyesArtandSpirit

I love art, I enjoy oil painting and drawing anything I wish. Vodou is my faith and I enjoy creating artistic images of the lwa and spiritual subjects. I also paint and draw other subjects when I'm inspired! When i'm not painting and drawing I enjoy dancing, and spending time with my family. My favorite medium is Oil but I also love to work with graphite pencil, pastels, pen and ink.
This entry was posted in Art for the lwa and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to “My Hands, My Mind, My Soul.”

  1. willofheart says:

    I do understand how you feel by this matter and I am hoping this matter will resolve soon…
    by the way I am nominating you for KREATIVE BLOGGER AWARD, pls. follow the link at http://willofheart.wordpress.com/2012/03/09/yay-awards/… Congratulations… 🙂

  2. mercydoll says:

    Right on, right on! Screw everyone and keep on doing what you do! I seriously like what you stand for and how you handle yourself.

    I get that crap of people telling me how I should be. People even tried to force me to be baptist when I was catholic (now pagan/spiritual). Or try to force me when to only be into rap while I love many genres of music. Even tried to pinpoint of who I am yet don’t get that I am Haitian (yet born American) and proud and love my mixed heritage. People are sometimes ignorant and all you got to do is keep on going.

    Again, right on!

  3. I was passing by and was halted by the sheer power of your creations! Great stuff.

    Cheers

    Shakti Ghosal

  4. Facebook handled the matter quick and removed my art from this users’ facebook photo page this morning! http://www.facebook.com/TheDivinePrince
    Thanks to all who helped me and Thank you Facebook!

  5. cheshirecatman says:

    Glad to hear the issue is resolved for now. Not glad to hear about what happened to you in high school–that racism of that ilk still goes on is appalling and it boggles my mind that this sort of thinking passes as “reason” in some people’s minds.

    What irks me even more is the double-standard attached to that type of thinking–it seems to be accepted as normal that mainstream Americans appropriate the trappings of non-white culture but people of color are supposed to stick to the types of art that matches our perceived ethnic background, which is uber stupid. The muse takes us where it will, and as long as we are respectful of other cultures that influence our work, I have no problem with that.

  6. i admire ur proactive step!

    great job!

  7. Houngan Kris says:

    Damn, some people think they can do whatever they like. May all the doors for these wicked fools close up- they need to be put in a corner like little kids to reflect their actions before they get hurt. I know who you are talking about, the word spread fast- but I’m glad you got it resolved quickly. That “divine” fool is just another spawn of just another hypocrite out there. Just like evil, can take all shapes and forms, it does not matter how you look- because the flesh will always deceive us no matter. But if we learn to listen to our spirit, nothing can ever run and hide and righteousness will always prevail. People are weak these days.. they see division stronger then unity, where is the intelligence? In the Vodou community as well, there is no exception. Without faith we are lost. Empty shells that worship nothing more than trickery and lies. Wow to fear the truth, can you imagine? That’s painful. We are all brothers and sisters, we all have the same blood, we all come from the same place and we all have our own gift. Could we just use it. Great blog Saundra, your art is an inspiration. Ayibobo

  8. I totally understand how you feel, this is the trouble with many who think they have the right to steal others works, I know I too have had poems stolen and probably still do, who then claimed them to be as their own.. The images I do show are from a Photobucket uploads .. As well as my own Art..
    I too am not a member of Facebook, never have joined, It to me is a gossiping place which even within my own family has caused much heartache with name calling etc.. ..
    Good luck with your petition for when you put your heart and soul into your work, its not good when others just Take..
    Wishing you well my friend and it was good to catch up with your work xxx ~Sue

    • Hi sue thanx for visiting, I’m kind of like a hermit crab and i only have a few close friends, so I don’t really want to be on facebook or too all over the place on the net. I had an old profile on Myspace, but i don’t use it its cheesy, LOL. well wishes too!

Leave a Reply

