“Damballah Ge Rouge”

My artistic interpretation of Damballah Red Eyes. Oil on Canvas sheet. Copyright c. 2011

 

          My oil painting of Damballah, the wise serpent of Vodou, in Ge Rouge form. Damballah is known as a great healer and a vessel of endless knowledge. His Red Eyed form is not worshipped in all Vodou societies, but Damballah and his wife Aida Ouedo are more famously known as the serpent and the rainbow.

Damballah Eyes Red, venom drops detail on canvas. Copyright c. 2011

            Damballah is fierce and bold in his red eyed form, but he is known to be a kind, fatherly lwa, who hisses during his possessions. Some cultures regard the snake or serpent as a symbol of evil and cunning. In Vodou Damballah is a benevolent serpent of the sky, father of all the lwa, who can bring good fortune, heal, and bless you with his wisdom.

About ErzulieRedEyesArtandSpirit

I love art, I enjoy oil painting and drawing anything I wish. Vodou is my faith and I enjoy creating artistic images of the lwa and spiritual subjects. I also paint and draw other subjects when I'm inspired! When i'm not painting and drawing I enjoy dancing, and spending time with my family. My favorite medium is Oil but I also love to work with graphite pencil, pastels, pen and ink.
This entry was posted in Art for the lwa and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “Damballah Ge Rouge”

  1. In my painting for Damballah Red Eyes he is modeled after the Coral snake with its colored bands on the scales. Coral snakes are venomous but the deadliest snake in the world is considerd to be the Inland Taipan Snake in Australia. Some would argue it’s the Black Mamba with its fast acting cardio-toxins and frequent murders due to lack of anti-venom in some areas.
    The bold and brave Steve Irwin playing with the Taipan:

  2. Music video for Damballah Ouedo by Michael Pluznick of the music group Barabajaba:

  3. cheshirecatman says:

    I love this painting! The colors are so vibrant and the details on the scales are wonderful.

    • I wanted to work with a more colorful palette for this painting. Sometimes I shy away from pastels because I think they are “weak” colours, but it turned out just fine! I like painting snakes, holding or petting one makes me nervous! lol

Leave a Reply

