“Erzulie’s Violini”

My original graphite pencil and oil colour painting on canvas. In honor of Freda. Copyright c. 2011

              I was moved by the spirit of Erzulie Freda Dahomey and the powerful rhythm of  Paganini’s Caprice no. 24 to create this painting. The little Italian cherub plays his instrument for Erzulie and his music makes roses and romance rain from the sky!

          Here is violin virtuoso Nicolo Paganini and his Caprice no. 24 played by one of the classical greats of our time, Yo Yo Ma on Cello:

                   http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lgAurilSDXQ&feature=player_detailpage

About ErzulieRedEyesArtandSpirit

I love art, I enjoy oil painting and drawing anything I wish. Vodou is my faith and I enjoy creating artistic images of the lwa and spiritual subjects. I also paint and draw other subjects when I'm inspired! When i'm not painting and drawing I enjoy dancing, and spending time with my family. My favorite medium is Oil but I also love to work with graphite pencil, pastels, pen and ink.
This entry was posted in Art for the lwa and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “Erzulie’s Violini”

  1. cheshirecatman says:

    That is beautiful, I love it!

  2. Hi Cheshire! Thank you! I always loved the violin and the way it sounds inspires me to draw and paint, I often play some while i work on my art.

  3. Raven of Leyla says:

    I am listening to it now as I type it is a lovely piece and I have always enjoyed the cello! Amazing he can play this meant for violin so difficult!!
    Stunning!!!

    • Yes its wonderful! I love Paganini because he plays so passionately and so quick. Its nice to hear upbeat rhythms when you’re tired of slow paced classical music. My sister used to play violin in high school, she would play some Mozart and Paganini for me while I would sit nearby and draw. Good memories.

Leave a Reply

