“Mambo Marinette, The Revolutionary!”

I am preparing a painting for Marinette.  I start with a black gesso base on canvas paper, this will be a night scene. Her symbol is the screech-owl, so the night belongs to her!

My artistic interpretation of Mambo Marinette and her spirit familiar the Screeching Owl.                                                             Titled “Marinette and The Owl’s Eye.” Copyright c. 2011

Marinette is dressed in a priestess gown the blood Red colour of the Petro lwa. Her hair is braided and beaded in the Petro colours. She peers from behind a large tree in the forest holding Ogoun’s Machete, a symbol of power and protection. Her eyes are like the night Owl’s and the nocturnal predator rests beside her in a tree. I painted the Great Horned Owl here, I love the expression in their eyes and the patterns of feathers in their faces. Ornithologists say that the Owl is able to turn its head 270 degrees, because of the extra vertebrae in their necks. In some cultures the Owl is a symbol of Death and Evil.

About ErzulieRedEyesArtandSpirit

I love art, I enjoy oil painting and drawing anything I wish. Vodou is my faith and I enjoy creating artistic images of the lwa and spiritual subjects. I also paint and draw other subjects when I'm inspired! When i'm not painting and drawing I enjoy dancing, and spending time with my family. My favorite medium is Oil but I also love to work with graphite pencil, pastels, pen and ink.
This entry was posted in Art for the lwa and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Mambo Marinette, The Revolutionary!”

  1. Artist John T. Unger created a nice altar for Marinette and the Anima Sola of the Catholic religion:
    http://www.johntunger.com/2006/09/altar_for_anima.html

    The Anima Sola image is fitting, since Marinette was burned alive. She was killed, but now she lives again, a powerful lwa of the Vodou pantheon.

Leave a Reply

