“Papa Alegba, little good Legba.”

My creative interpretation of the gatekeeper Papa Alegba! Copyright c. 2010

 

My artistic interpretation of Papa Alegba with spectacles, new and complete version. Oil on acrylic paper sheet. Crinkled Red Canvas Background. Copyright c. 2011

My artistic interpretation of Papa Alegba. Frame and matboard detail. Non-glare acrylic glazing. Copyright c. 2011

 

 These are my oil paintings and creative interpretations of the lwa, Papa Alegba.                Legba is the lwa who allows connection from the spirit world to our physical world.            He guards the gates to the spirit world and allows the lwa to pass over into our world!     You must call on him to ask for the assistance of the lwa! Here I have him dressed in a red suit with a white neck scarf and cuffs. Red and white are Legba’s colors! He is smoking his pipe and holding a ring of keys, these keys symbolize his ability to open the gate to the spirit world. When Legba possesses someone, they need a cane or crutch to walk with. Because Legba often appears as an old man with sores all over his body. I have him here, standing upright with his walking cane. Although he appears old, he is a very powerful and strong lwa. 

 Honor be to Papa Alegba, he who opens the gate,                                                      the good spirit at the crossroads!

About ErzulieRedEyesArtandSpirit

I love art, I enjoy oil painting and drawing anything I wish. Vodou is my faith and I enjoy creating artistic images of the lwa and spiritual subjects. I also paint and draw other subjects when I'm inspired! When i'm not painting and drawing I enjoy dancing, and spending time with my family. My favorite medium is Oil but I also love to work with graphite pencil, pastels, pen and ink.
This entry was posted in Art for the lwa and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to “Papa Alegba, little good Legba.”

  1. cheshirecatman says:

    I like this painting a lot 🙂

  2. Terry Tree says:

    Excellent and accurate representation. It is beautifully obvious that your art does come from your heart. Thank you.

  3. Commentary and personal experiences with Papa Alegba from a root doctor:

  4. Mambo Samantha Corfield blogs the topic of special lwa days, this is Papa Legba’s month in this blog entry: http://voodooboutique.typepad.com/mambosam/special_lwa_days/

Leave a Reply

