Papa Alegba, the gatekeeper, the good man at the crossroads…

My digital sketch of the veve of Papa Legba

This is the great symbol of Papa Alegba!
He is a kind and powerful spirit and he makes communication between the spirit world and the “physical” world possible. He is a rada lwa, the gatekeeper, the man at the crossroads.

 Here is a song for Papa Legba:

 “Little good Legba open the door for me!

 Little good Legba open the door for me!

 Open the door for me, for me to pass,

when I return I will thank the lwa!”

About ErzulieRedEyesArtandSpirit

I love art, I enjoy oil painting and drawing anything I wish. Vodou is my faith and I enjoy creating artistic images of the lwa and spiritual subjects. I also paint and draw other subjects when I'm inspired! When i'm not painting and drawing I enjoy dancing, and spending time with my family. My favorite medium is Oil but I also love to work with graphite pencil, pastels, pen and ink.
This entry was posted in Art for the lwa and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Papa Alegba, the gatekeeper, the good man at the crossroads…

  1. Je’taime papa legba! Merci mon cher!

  2. jerry says:

    Hi there thanks for writting those things ( information about the lwa and so on) I would like to know if you know more about them?what are their purpose?

    • Hello, the lwa are like angels, they are intermediaries that work directly with humans. There are lwa in nature, the sky, the earth and each has their own power. Papa Legba is the crossroads, for example, he allows the lwa to pass over into our world.

  3. william says:

    I met a mystic who gave me a (real) reading.He said i was a child of alegba.I wanted to know more about this.Is there a site I can go to?

Leave a Reply

