Papa Loko

 

My sketch of a veve for Papa Loko, with basil leaf detail. Water pastel on canvas. Copyright c. 2011

Papa Loko is the very first Houngan and he is the father of all Houngans and Mambos!     His wife is Ayizan and together they bless all new kanzo initiates and are keepers of the rites of kanzo ritual. When a person becomes initiated into Vodou and becomes a Mambo or Houngan, Papa  Loko hands them the Asson, the sacred rattle used to invoke the spirits. Papa Loko teaches the correct ceremonies and ways of Vodou, keeping tradition and knowledge of Vodou alive.

 Honor to Papa Loko!

About ErzulieRedEyesArtandSpirit

I love art, I enjoy oil painting and drawing anything I wish. Vodou is my faith and I enjoy creating artistic images of the lwa and spiritual subjects. I also paint and draw other subjects when I'm inspired! When i'm not painting and drawing I enjoy dancing, and spending time with my family. My favorite medium is Oil but I also love to work with graphite pencil, pastels, pen and ink.
This entry was posted in Art for the lwa and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Papa Loko

  1. Chantal says:

    Thank you for sharing your passion, your art and your talent with us !

Leave a Reply

